What is this Diablo2HD ?

This is a blog started with the desire to recreate with a new graphics engine a really good game developed by Blizzard – Diablo 2 ( official page ).

Since this is a project that will be developed on my free time, I guess this will take some time. I will gather resources, help and anything that will be of use in order to develop this game.

There is also a post on battle.net ( see details ) that shows a desire from gamers , asking for a remake of this masterpiece.

What people say:

“I would give my left nut for a remake of diablo 2…”

“I would pay a sub for that. Best idea ive heard in a long while! D2!”

“So to sum up, it would be a great idea to revive the game and rescue it from the forgetfulness pit it’s drowning at, but just a visual upgrade without touching neither the lore nor the game mechanics.”

“Id buy D2 expansion 2!!!! LOL no, im serious id buy it”

“I would pay at least $50 for a Diablo 2 HD remake from Blizzard. I would pre-order it a year in advance.”

Of course opinions are separated, some want this, some of them don’t. What I care about are the people that want this, and are willing to give a hand. I will create a new post with the help needed.

No money will be collected , because Blizzard will sue me for this, because I plan to use the same sounds, and graphics as close to the original , as I will be able to make them, same game mechanics, etc.

Donations on the other hand, I think are welcome, in order to buy textures from the Unity store , etc. ( I will see in time, if this will cause any legal problems ). I hope I can keep a transparent window to all expenses related to this. Of course that some money are needed for developing a game in order to pay different things (textures, plugins, any other game assets).

The chosen graphics engine will be Unity. A large comunity exists, and I hope that I will find people willing to help. Some people are good with graphics, other with game mechanics. I will no be able to anyghing by myself. The plan is to put the source code on GIThub, so people can help with coding and keep a record of everything.

 

So this is the plan 🙂 good luck to us all

 

ezaNU

Leave a comment